READ Initiative (Bible in 365)

Acquire Wisdom–READ Day 2

Proverbs 1: 8,9
8 My child, listen when your father corrects you.
Don’t neglect your mother’s instruction.
9 What you learn from them will crown you with grace
and be a chain of honor around your neck.

I value the role of mentors in my life and it isn’t necessarily one particular person I would consider my mentor. Many older women have set great examples on how to be a professional in my field, a wife, a pastor’s wife and even budding mother-in-training over time. Each has deposited precious gold nuggets into my spirit.

I recently went out with some college-aged girls who were former students. I’ve known them most of their lives and to see them on their personal journeys makes me proud to witness God in action. They aren’t perfect-and they don’t claim to be. I value their candidness and their ability to look beyond my “first lady” status and ask the tough questions. They in turn expect me to be honest with no frills. It’s not a conversation wrought with scripture quoting; when you live a life pleasing to God, the scripture can’t be hidden anyway.

We laugh, we eat and we talk. No pretenses, just the real deal. I don’t pretend to understand fully the life of a young woman these days. A lot has changed since I was their age, but God hasn’t changed and His word transcends generational gaps.

Every woman deserves to acquire godly wisdom from women who will share from the heart. Be you a new or seasoned mentor, keep your heart accessible to those who wish to seek your friendship and counsel.

Leave a Reply

