READ Initiative (Bible in 365)

Anger Control-READ Day 4

It’s actually day 6 today, but weekends are that much harder to do your Bible reading.  Gotta work on that.  

Psalm 4: 4,5 stood out to me:

“Don’t sin by letting anger control you.  Think about it overnight and remain silent.  Offer sacrifices in the right spirit, and trust the Lord.”

My husband is great with this verse.  I’m the one who usually wants to handle it right then. In any situation, he’s usually calm about things and can wait up to almost a week to confront a matter.  When asked how he does it, his response, “I need to think everything through and make sure I consider all the facts and think out what I’m going to say.”  My ongoing mantra to him–you are definitely a better human being than I will EVER be!

Well, I guess I’ll be working on that myself in the coming weeks.  As rational of a person I can be, my emotional side usually comes out quicker than expected.  Guess it comes with being a woman and when you’ve either been hurt by others or witnessed great hurt committed to others—you’re that much read to strike while the iron is hot.  

The verse doesn’t caution me not to be angry, but rather not to sin in my anger.  So glad that God understands we are mere mortals trying our best to be like Him.  It saves a lot of heartache in the long run. And like my husband mentions, you think things from every angle, even giving the person the benefit of the doubt.  You can seek wise counsel while you wait and above all things–pray for God’s discernment and wisdom through it.

So when the world says “strike while the iron is hot” God says, slow your roll and think it through. 

Leave a Reply

