READ Initiative (Bible in 365)

READ Day 16–Results-Oriented

It’s actually Day 28, and I realize that instead of trying to write every day (which is not feasible right about now), to high light some of the days as the Lord leads.  Reading at this pace each day is like watching a reality show unfold.  Just when it gets good, you’re left with a cliff hanger!  I kinda like it this way because even if I’m a few days behind, it’s not that hard to catch up.  

Matthew 11:15-18

15 Anyone with ears to hear should listen and understand! 16 “To what can I compare this generation? It is like children playing a game in the public square. They complain to their friends, 

17 ‘We played wedding songs,

    and you didn’t dance,

so we played funeral songs,

    and you didn’t mourn.’

18 For John didn’t spend his time eating and drinking, and you say, ‘He’s possessed by a demon.’ 19 The Son of Man,[a] on the other hand, feasts and drinks, and you say, ‘He’s a glutton and a drunkard, and a friend of tax collectors and other sinners!’ But wisdom is shown to be right by its results.”

This was a “damned if you do and damned if you don’t type” of scripture for me.  If I were to interview every person in my life, I’d find that there would be various ways of describing my motives, the essence of who I am, and my worth in this world.  I’m willing to bet that each person would base their responses on life experiences they have gone through with me, be it good or bad.  One would call me a witch on heels and another may nominate me for sainthood.  

Apparently this generation that Jesus described is no different than the one we now live in.  It’s a generation that isn’t quite sure where to place themselves or what to believe in.  If the season is especially joyous, they’ll find something to complain about.  If it’s a difficult one, they’ll remember the “good ol days.”  Jesus and John were as different as two people could be but the people weren’t happy with what they saw in each.  Yet that last verse is what I stand on.  “But wisdom is shown to be right by it’s results.”  At day’s end, regardless if we lived like a pauper or prince, it’s the wisdom we use to live out our lives that will be the proof in our pudding.  So, I’m remembering to be more “results-oriented” in my walk with Christ.  I’m asking the Holy Spirit to yield these same generational comments from others in the belief that my work, my life will speak for itself.  How are you allowing wisdom to speak louder than the judgments?  Be purposeful in your profession, in raising your children, in being a good spouse, in being a student–the results will be all that matters in the end.

 

Leave a Reply

