Uncategorized

Knocking At 40’s Door

I was rummaging through a photo box and came across a few before and after photos of myself. In five years span I had yielded some great results on my body. I had put in some hard work–four days a week of intense workout. Life was much simpler back then. These days my schedule leaves little room to breathe much less consider my body’s needs.

Knocking at 40’s door tends to stop you in your tracks every now and then. There’s a lot of self-inventory that takes place. I’m taking stock of what’s on this shelf called my life. Great marriage-check, love my profession-check, great circle of friends/colleagues-check. There are yet some empty spaces I’d like to fill and it’s all a work in progress.

I guess it’s natural to look back on your years with some sense of pride and yes even some regrets. I’d like to say I have a ten year plan all set and ready to roll out, but my God knows that if He isn’t in it, no amount of strategizing will matter. I’m a planner, a list maker, a type A kind of girl. But being a child of God leaves little room for all that if I truly count God as my CEO and COO. That’s the difference between purposed-driven people of God and the world–or at least that should be the difference.

James 4:13-15
Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go into such and such a town and spend a year there and trade and make a profit”— yet you do not know what tomorrow will bring. What is your life? For you are a mist that appears for a little time and then vanishes. Instead you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.”

I’m brimming with excitement to turn the dial over on this thirty decade. Thirty is for the birds, the chickens and the ducks! Yet the Holy Spirit sends that constant reminder of verses like James 4–that life is just a mist.

Take this gift of life one day at a time. Breathe, work, exercise, go to the spa, hike, socialize, take care of self and others. Pray LESS for your will and MORE of His will be done.

20131112-064324.jpg

20131112-064839.jpg

1 thought on “Knocking At 40’s Door”

Leave a Reply

