Uncategorized

Those Who Hustle

“Things may come to those who wait… but only the things left by those who hustle.”

The 90’s tv comedy show, In Living Color, made Jamaicans popular with the “I have ‘tree’ jobs” skits. No one has looked at an Irie Man the same ever again. You tell someone you have a diversified employment portfolio and next word out their mouth is “you must be a Jamaican!” Love my fellow islanders but it’s Haitian blood that run through these veins. And no, I don’t sit still to wait and see what the world is going to give me.

I used to be hesitant, even skittish about sharing what all I did personally and professionally. Sharing what I all I had my hand in left others breathless and tired just hearing it. But I get my sleep every night and I eat just fine. I’m spiritually centered and have God at the center of it all. I usually ask Him to shut whatever doors He doesn’t want me to enter and lock it up real right. I have a great support system in place. My husband loves me as I am (most times!) and he isn’t one bit insecure about who I am and what I do.

And that’s just it. Those who don’t believe in waiting on life to happen to us have to be surrounded by those who don’t mind watching the whirlwind that is the life of the perfectionist, the above-board achiever. We have a hint of ADD and a touch of OCD. You combine that with our insatiable curiosity and you have an individual whose ever growing, ever in transition.

Next time you come across a “hustler” do try to hide your dismay a little bit better and watch them do their thing. Who knows, you may learn a thing or two.

20140508-174900.jpg

Leave a Reply

