Grief And Loss

Don’t Be Misinformed

But we do not want you to be uninformed, brethren, about those who are asleep, so that you will not grieve as do the rest who have no hope. (1 Thessalonians 4:13 NASB)

My meditation these days is surrounding grief and loss. I’m trying to take comfort in what the Bible speaks to my spirit. The “Grief Bites” Plan on YouVersion gives me specific verses that provide encouragement and promise in the season of loss. The one above hit home as I think constantly of my mom in her absence.

There are days when I cry unexpectedly and other days where I don’t. There are days where I’m more sullen and other days when I’m acting silly like today when I did a silly dance for my co-workers. They got a genuine smile from me today. Reading that verse also brings a smile to my heart.

Here’s my urban twist on what it says in my “Sha-Nay-Nay” voice: PUHLEEZE don’t get it twisted. Those who called Jesus, Lord and Savior, ain’t thinking about this life and all the mess it comes with. Gon’ head and cry but trust and believe that those they leave behind need to get with the program.

I sure do miss my mom! It’s part of my mental and verbal litany these days. Sometimes I just text that simple phrase to my brother. It says it all. But Thessalonians reminds me not to be uninformed about where she is and how this thing we call life all turns out.

I have hope. Hope that I will one day see that lady who gave me more headaches than the law allowed. To hear her one day again tell me “I love you” with her Haitian accent. To see those huge expressive eyes that mirror mine.

For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so God will bring with Him those who have fallen asleep in Jesus. Therefore comfort one another with these words. (1 Thessalonians 4:14, 18 NASB)

20140619-191214-69134604.jpg

20140619-191229-69149539.jpg

Leave a Reply

