Grief And Loss

It’s In The Telling

It will also come to pass that before they call, I will answer; and while they are still speaking, I will hear. (Isaiah 65:24 NASB)

Thinking of my mom is the first and last thing I do each day. And even with a loving spouse laying right next to me, it is a very lonely feeling to get up with thoughts of loss.

Who else to turn to but God? Man’s comfort is temporal. It’s conditional and although well-meaning it doesn’t meet the need of a creation who needs her Creator instantly. Even as I begin to speak in my heart to Him, he already knows. He knew this season was to come and I know that all roads in my life led to this.

There are times when I don’t want to talk to God about how I feel these days. I figure he should already know how I feel and what my needs are. But it’s moments like these when I know my expressions to him, my honesty isn’t about him hearing it (duh, He knows everything), but rather just His way of helping me confront my fears and my hurt. It’s in the telling that He will help me get through this.

Thank you Jesus for being my friend, thank you Holy Spirit for being my comforter, and thank you God for holding my heart in your hand.

Leave a Reply

