Current Events, Grief And Loss

Rich In Faith

Apparently we still think that money and fame can buy happiness and peace of mind. If we didn’t, the residual shock our nation is feeling this week wouldn’t be so palpable. Shocked to see a well loved, wealthy bastion of celebrity life has taken his life.

I think of my recent loss, and how there are days I would rather stew in the depression that allows free entry. It’s soft, it’s comfortable. It is that warm blanket that envelops you into a deep dark place. A place where voices become dim. Where silence reigns.

And then I know that Jesus is truly the answer to those dark days. When common sense, alcohol, drugs, even education and rationale can’t fill that void–Jesus certainly can. He didn’t promise there would be no bad days. But he did promise we would have His grace to see them through.

I think of David and his struggle to overcome enemies that wanted his body and soul. Of Paul who wanted to rid himself of this bane that followed him. Of the Christians now in the Middle East fleeing persecution. I think of my mother, with cancer ravaging her body. She continued to stand on God’s Word. With no money in the bank, no huge home, no lavish life styles–she was rich in faith.

Psalm 40:1-3
I waited patiently for the LORD; he turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and mire; he set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand. He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the LORD.

Leave a Reply

