Random Thoughts

Shoes, Shoes, and More Shoes

I don’t know what it is about wearing a nice pair of shoes that appeals to me. My brother and I both have the vice. He’s a sneaker head. And I, well I just like anything that fits well and looks good. That can be a pair of red Converse, some black Nike duck boots, red and camel Frye cowboy boots, or some BeBe shoes I bought over ten years ago that I still have in my collection.

You know you are a shoe fiend when you have more shoes for one outfit or the outfit has long since left the closet and the shoes are still there! I may have to go sit on someone’s couch to analyze this love affair for shoes. I didn’t grow up having a lot of pairs of shoes. My parents never bought us name brand anything but I knew from my mom’s old pictures that she had a mean shoe game herself. Cancer didn’t strike her shoe taste dumb or blind. Whenever I came to visit her from work or on the way to church, first thing she would do is compliment my shoes. Game recognized game.

My shoes are all boxed and labeled. I spent one winter break typing up labels and neatly placing them “bad boys” away. My friends joke that when I die, people are going to break down my door just to get to my shoes. I gotta write out this living will for real! I used to feel embarrassed when people talked about my shoe game. I never liked that kind of attention. I heard different things in their words. But there’s something about this year that has me saying “it’s whatever”. Yeah I like shoes. Yep, it’s part of my monthly budget. And what of it? #DeucesAndDismissed

I’m quite selective in my shoe choices. No $10 shoes here. No run of the mill shoes for me. They don’t last long, the heels tend to wobble, and they come a dime a dozen. Who wants a twin shoe wearer at a party? Not I says the cat!

I’m not selective on where I buy shoes from. I got a pair of never worn label brand shoes from Goodwill. I do Macy’s, Ross, Marshalls, DSW, and gasp! I even do EBay. That’s a story for another blog! Now I do have some dream shoes on my list. One of a certain soled shade. And another of a certain vintaged name. A girl can dream and work hard for hers. And the big 40 is right around the corner.

I’m sure the therapist who analyzes my fetish may find some personality flaws that lend to my passion for shoes. So I may as well save them the trouble and diagnose my damn self. Personality disorder: shoe lover. Treatment plan: buy shoes.

Leave a Reply

