Grief And Loss

New Year Musings: Simplify

The latter part of this year ended up being like screeching brakes on a runaway train. I literally dropped most commitments in midstream. I went from being at a meeting, conference, event or gathering every other week to living under a rock from May 30th until now. Work and home life were my only commitments. I didn’t want to go anywhere, didn’t want to do anything. I’m the one who would plan to “party like a rock star” for a weekend, and end up just wanting to stay in my room. I felt guilty for each time I went out with friends and thought I was dishonoring my mother’s memory. I was a Debbie Downer and I liked being in that mode.

Heading into 2015, I know I can’t necessarily stay under the rock. I’ve got to come out and make nice with humanity. But there are some things I will cling to even as I opt to get back on this train called life.

1. Make no excuses. No means no. That’s it!

2. Treat your time like bars of gold. This life is temporal. Don’t allow others to waste it.

3. Say what you mean and mean what you say. Life is truly too short to beat around the bush and hem and haw.

4. See through people. There are a lot of hurting folks (who sometimes mask as fools) out there. Once you get that, you are more apt to forgive, confront, overlook (and my personal favorite) IGNORE.

5. Make beautiful memories. The loss of a loved one leaves you holding a bag of memories. Let’s keep making them with friends, loved ones, and total strangers.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/7d8/40022221/files/2014/12/img_4126.jpg

Leave a Reply

