Uncategorized

My Gift To You

For the fools who still comes around saying “where’s my gift” feel free to use these words in response to them. 

When I put in a good word for you to get that job. That was my gift to you. 

When I wrote that reference letter at the last minute. That was my gift to you. 

When I took your late night phone call or texts or emails. That was my gift to you. 

When I let you stay at my house for longer than expected. That was my gift to you. 

When I loaned you my car and you brought it back on empty. That was my gift to you. 

When I set you up on that date with your now new bride or groom. That was my gift to you. 

When I loaned you that $500 and didn’t get it back. That was my gift to you. 

When you needed money for school uniforms for your children. That was my gift to you. 

When I lied to the pastor about where you were last weekend. That was my gift to you. 

When you came over and spent half the night crying on my shoulder about that poor excuse of a person that you still with. That was my gift to you. 

When you lost your loved one and I was the only familiar face sitting in the pews.  That was my gift to you. 

When I spent my hard earned money to celebrate your birthday trip. That was my gift to you. 

When I traveled up for your wedding, graduation, birthday, parent’s funeral. That was my gift to you. 

When you needed seed money to start your business. That was my gift to you. 
When you needed sound advice about getting this new job and leaving the last. That was my gift to you. 

When you needed someone to help you pack up your stuff and leave in the still of the night. That was my gift to you. 

When I agreed to go to the strip club with you just to make sure you came out of there alive and safe. That was my gift to you. 

When I had to defend your reputation to others on social media. That was my gift to you. 

When I chose to overlook your two-faced comments. That was my gift to you. 

When I’m still waiting on an apology five years in the making. That was my gift to you. 

When you took advantage of my good name for your personal benefit. That was my gift to you. 

I could go on and on about the myriad of ways that we gift throughout the year. Never get caught up in feeling obligated to buy anyone anything. In those other 364 days of the year. You have gifted well enough. 

1 thought on “My Gift To You”

Leave a Reply

